The New Course

The new 18 hole course, located on Back Porepunkah Road was opened on May 6, 1989, is generally flat to undulating and covers over 50 hectares. At this time the club become known as Bright Country Golf Club.

Before the gold dredges turned the soil upside down in the early 1900's the site was a walnut grove known as "Robinette Farm". The farm was in the vicinity of the current 13th fairway. After the dredges had destroyed the top soil the site is believed to have been planted with wattles to be used for tannin processing in Beechworth. In 1922, after the dredges had done there work the site was planted with Pinus Radiata and a few Californian Redwoods (Sequoia Sempervirens) The radiata pines were harvested and replanted again in 1962.

On November 24, 1982 a wild fire destroyed the pine plantation. Fortunately a couple of the Sequoia survived thanks to the quick thinking of a few local fire fighters. (The Club's logo now depicts one of the remaining specimens that stands next to the Club House with a height of 47.4 metres and still growing) The fire was so intense it became a major threat to the township of Bright. To reduce this risk the authorities decided a green belt was needed to provide protection from any future threat.


In 1983 negotiations began with the government department controlling the pine plantations. This proved to be a long drawn out process, as the regulations of the day would not allow any crown land to be converted to private ownership. A means had to be found to overcome this constraint. Through contacts in the Plantations Dept, Ron Cherry learnt of a parcel of land a-joining an existing plantation in the Tallangatta Valley that may be purchased and a Title Exchange completed. This would allow the Golf Club to be relocated to a 50 acre site on the Back Porepunkah Road providing the green belt protection for the town and to expand to an 18 hole course.

Initial earthworks began in 1984 to determine the viability of the site, as little topsoil was evident to sustain growth of an adequate grass cover. After the Title Exchange was completed in 1987 construction began in earnest. The Minister for Sport & Recreation, Mr. Neil Trezise opened the first 9 holes on May 6, 1989. An additional 3 holes were completed in 1991 with the final 6 in 1992.

Through the foresight and determination of a few members, in particular Ron Cherry, and the vision of the course designer Tony Cashmore, a magnificent course was born.

Today, the Bright Country Golf Club is not only one of the states oldest golf clubs, it is also considered to be one of Victoria's best regional courses and each year continues to expand its reputation for providing a challenging yet enjoyable layout. The course is nestled beside the Ovens River and provides breathtaking views in spring; summer & autumn of pine covered hills and in winter of the surrounding snow covered mountains. At the conclusion of the Victorian Senior Amateur Championships hosted at Bright in October 2002, the VGA President, Mr. Dick Kirby, paid compliment to the Club for presenting the course in an immaculate condition.

The Golf Shop & Course are open 7 days a week for anyone to take up the challenge and enjoy the magnificent alpine setting.

HomeSite Map

Bright Country Golf Club 
Back Porepunkah Road, Bright Victoria 3741
 Phone: 03 5755 1773

© 2015 - Bright Country Golf Club Inc.