When playing the 8th hole at Bright, some players have been seen to misunderstand Rule 26 (Water Hazards). In most cases when a ball is hit into the dredge hole from the tee, under the rule, the next shot must be played under penalty of one shot from the tee or way back behind the dredge hole. The rule states:
If your ball is in a water hazard (yellow stakes and/or lines) you may play the ball as it lies or, under penalty of one stroke:
If your ball is in a lateral water hazard (red stakes and/or lines), in addition to the options for a ball in a water hazard (see above), under penalty of one stroke, you may drop within two club-lengths of, and not nearer the hole than:
This video may help to explain the rule.